Reviews

8.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.4
Comfort
7.8
Property location
8.6
Facilities
7.8
Staff
8.7
Value
7.3

Reviews

    Andrew Stewart
    nz

    Review score

    8.8
    22 September 2018

    Enjoy the peace

    Lovely pool also the seating on the river bank. Lots of places to relax. Some nice restaurants nearby. Easy to get around by bicycle. Very laid back and slow paced.
    paolo
    it

    Review score

    8.3
    28 August 2018
    Apart from seeing the two waterfalls and the dolphins, there is nothing to do, and in the rainy season it is really a mess to move and do everything
    Bunk-like rooms, nothing much, the price is excessive compared to the hotel. The nice thing is that they are all independent houses that overlook the mekong and a beautiful garden. Great place to relax 2 days. And the swimming pool is excellent. The guide that made us tour the island, to see the waterfalls and dolphins, the only thing to do in the island, was very helpful and professional. Friendly and attentive staff, they arranged for us to transfer to don khong.
    Marica
    gb

    Review score

    10
    2 March 2018

    Loved everything about the hotel.

    Wonderful hotel, great location with beautiful views. Amazing food and lovely staff
    Kathryn
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    24 February 2018

    A comfortable and solid place to stay, right by the bridge.

    While the pool is wonderful, it can be a bit hectic with boisterous travelers bopping balls about and splashing. There is much better food to be had, at a better price, just moments away.
    I upgraded from a garden bungalow to the newer building right on the river, which made all the difference in the world. It was heavenly to have the Mekong rolling by, and the rooms are very generic but well equipped.
    Sarah
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    18 February 2018

    A lovely stay in a lovely hotel

    The pool was fantastic and the staff were really helpful.
    Marietta
    gb

    Review score

    10
    15 February 2018

    Great place to unwind on a beautiful island. Will definitely go back.

    Noise from howling dogs who join the cockerals in the dawn chorus or sometimes earlier!
    General ambiance. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely bungalow with view overlooking the river and hammock on the verander. Great place to chill out
    Adele Gibbons
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    17 January 2018
    Stairs only
    Location
    vn

    Review score

    10
    29 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Brian
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    23 December 2017

    So good we extended our stay, twice!

    Only as mentioned perhaps some mats on the sunbeds.
    The location was perfect, right on the river and near all the local restaurants. We stayed in the river view room which was fantastic for us. The breakfast was good, freshly cooked omelettes and pancakes each morning. The swimming pool is an excellent place to cool off, although the sun beds could do with some comfy mats on them. The hardwood is just that, hard.
    david riedl
    at

    Review score

    8.8
    8 December 2017

    Nice resort with a lot of potential

    At the moment there is a construction site directly next to the bungalows. Constructions were going on also on saturday and sunday and started arround 6 am. Also there seems to be a woodshop across the street, which was also quite noisy. We are well aware that there is little the management can do about that, yet it was a bit disturbing. Food was alright but not extraordinary, breakfast was a bit thin (although including freshly made pancakes and eggs).
    Very friendly helpful staff, very clean, good overall service, nice big pool, large bungalows. the restaurant is very well situated and offers a beautiful view on the french bridge and the sunset. The staff helped us with everything, including changing euros to dollar, laundry, bike rental service, etc. Very warm and nice atmosphere The resort is situated in the central part of don khone and everything can be reached quite easily; also several good restaurants within a couple of minutes by foot. At the moment the resort is being expanded with quite a large building facing the mekong; from what we have seen the rooms will be quite good when finished.
    Randal
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    5 December 2017

    I would stay again. Great staff. Look for Noh, the always helpful smiling lady (manager's cousin

    A lot of remodeling and building being done at the first site. That made it quite noisy, and the opposite of what you want when you've already chosen the location because it's definitely the quieter of the islands. I think it will be a great site once the new building is done, and even now if you get a river view it's great. I would stay there again, but at the Villa location and just walk to use the pool when desired.
    Sengahloune is really a mixed bag in terms of the rooms. There are two locations, the one site with the pool and a villa about a 10 minute walk further down the road. The villa site had wonderful rooms, spacious and modern. We moved to the villa after one night at the location with pool where we stayed in a non-river view room. The riverview rooms looked nice, the garden views were bad. Dark, thatched roof, bamboo walled rooms. Emphasis on dark and small. The staff was excellent at both locations and acted quickly to be of service. This was my experience with the restaurant personnel as well as the hotel manager.
    Steve
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    1 December 2017

    Lovely hotel, shame about the building works

    Unexpected buildings works at the hotel. Poor onward travel advice.
    Riverside location and pool
    Marc
    gb

    Review score

    3.8
    19 November 2017

    huge huge disappointment

    we were supposed to stay 5 nights as it looked like the ideal spot to rest after trudging through laos, but we cut our stay short. the problem is the location which is next to the road, next to a wood cutting station and next to a building site. work would start at 6:30 am (!) and last all day so no chance of relaxing in the hammock or by the pool. the owner said it was normal during the dry season. in addition, the dogs barked, howled, growled and fought all night, including on our little terrace, so it was impossible to sleep. the owner said that it was normal during that time of year. so, no relaxing during the day and no sleeping at night makes you wonder why you should stay there at all. sadly, no refund for us so i cannot recommend this place. there are better options on don khon and don det
    breakfast is decent
    Thomas
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    19 October 2017

    sehr erholsam und doch preiswert

    refurbish the bathroom a little; Credit Card acception is signed but wasn't possible, as manager wasn't available.
    great restaurant - try the Hot Pot, beautiful view to the river in front of the patio.
    Michele
    us

    Review score

    10
    15 October 2017

    Great getaway with a swimming pool.

    No complaints.
    Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, great food in the hotel restaurant, all for a reasonable price. Nice, quiet location right on the river. Very nice swimming pool - we did not see another hotel in Don Kohn or Don Det with a pool Highly recommend this place for a quiet getaway.
    gb

    Review score

    2.5
    12 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Filippo
    it

    Review score

    10
    11 September 2017

    Very nice place

    the meat very hard to eat
    location
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    9 February 2017
    Wifi does not work in the room, but works in the restaurant.
    This is one of the more expensive places on Don Khon, around $48 US for a bookings reservation, about $8 dollars less without reservation. Hot water and AC work well. It is next to the bridge to Don Det and about 15 minutes by bicycle to the waterfalls and slightly more to the waterfront where you can rent a boat to see the dolphins. Breakfast is included and is decent.
    Esteban
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    8 September 2018

    Clean room, nice pool and views from the restaurant

    It was all fine but the main road gets impossible to walk when it rains. Is not Hotels problem but it affects your experience as you would need to walk from the wharf to there.
    Clean room. Friendly staff. The food was good and the views from the restaurant are nice. Breakfast is not buffet but you can always get pancakes, omelette baguette, fruit and juices. Always good to have a pool after a long day exploring the island. Its very close to the old french bridge so you would cover Don Det as well.
    Stefan Stick
    th

    Review score

    7.1
    15 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews